On the Road with Texas Mutual Recruiting

By Stephanie Schumacher, Recruiting Consultant

By Stephanie Schumacher, Recruiting Consultant

We spent the last two HR blogs detailing a day in the life of an underwriter. The overviews were timely as we were actively engaging with underwriter candidates from our college recruiting efforts to fill 6 positions. The outcome? We hired seven underwriter trainees that will attend a 13-week training program at the corporate office. This effort will set the pace for future training class opportunities in other divisions.

Thinking ahead to how those future programs will develop takes me to the claims department. An insurance company thrives on its integrity, and how claims are handled is a key component of that message.

I had the chance to spend the morning with Sr. Claims Adjuster Moriah Wilson when I was hired. I wanted to find out more about her role here and the impact it has on Texas’ workers. Moriah explained, “Texas Mutual strives to look at the big picture. It’s not just about the claim. Our safety services department provides education on preventing accidents and reducing the number of overall claims. We make sure that if an injury does happen, we have quality medical professionals within the health care network to assist the injured worker. We’re really concerned with the workers of Texas not only if they’ve had an injury, but even if they’ve never had a claim at all.”

Here’s a look at Moriah’s typical day.

7:30 – 7:45 AM: As I arrive, I log in to email and review any new emails. One thing I get every morning is an email from my supervisor with the “daily counts” of the team’s individual desktops. This gives me a good gauge of where everyone is, the kind of workload we’re seeing, etc.

7:45 – 8:00 AM: I then log in to the claims system and pull up my own desktop, as well as my supervisor’s. As a senior adjuster, I assist in managing some of the requests that come to the supervisor’s desktop, such as claim reassignments and file reviews. Looking at both in the morning helps me prioritize my day.

8:00 – 8:15 AM: While assisting with the supervisor tasks, I review claims that no longer meet the criteria of the current handling adjuster to determine whether reassignment of the claim is appropriate. Typically, this occurs due to a change in their work status or new information regarding the severity of the injury. I usually complete these first to ensure they’re getting to the new adjuster quickly. We continue to monitor any new requests throughout the day.

8:15 – 8:45 AM: As I work through my own desktop today, I make contacts on new claims to confirm injury details, disability and treatment status, offer assistance, etc. I review incoming documents for my claims. I also complete follow-up activity on my own claims. I receive a reduced claim load as a senior to allot time to assist on the supervisor desktop and to work on other tasks as assigned.

8:45 – 9:30 AM: File reviews for the team will be reviewed on or by the 15th day from our first notice of loss by the supervisor or senior.   I look to confirm that the criteria for quality claims handling has been met and that we haven’t overlooked anything. I document my review and provide feedback to the adjuster as necessary. These reviews take the largest portion of my day.

9:30 – 11:30 AM: In the morning, my supervisor and I meet with another department to discuss the claims handling process across departments.  I sometimes sit in on meetings to provide input but also for development purposes. Our team meeting follows.

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM: At lunch, I participate in yoga. We have a yoga instructor that comes to the office every Wednesday and sets up in our large conference room with the tables and chairs moved to the side and the lights dimmed. This is a nice break from the workday and is one of many things our company does to encourage employees to lead a healthy lifestyle.

12:30 – 4:30 P.M.: I have no meetings this afternoon, so I get back to my desk and continue to work on reviews. I am available throughout the day to provide guidance and feedback to the team on any questions they may have. Part of my role is to provide the training for any new adjusters on our team. I also field calls throughout the day and answer our “zoom line.” The team shares the responsibility of answering that line which increases our customer service quality.

Moriah went on to describe the different types of adjusters that work within claims. “Medical only adjusters, like me, handle claims for workers that are not anticipated to have lost time from work and need medical benefits only. We also have indemnity adjusters who handle claims where the workers need income and medical benefits. Lastly, we have catastrophic adjusters who assist workers and employers when severe injuries or fatalities occur.”

What does Moriah find most rewarding? “The most rewarding part of my job is receiving recognition and thanks for work that I’ve done. Sometimes, this is from co-workers or supervisors for my contributions to our work product. I also really appreciate it when I get thanks from our external customers because I know that dealing with work comp isn’t easy. I like being able to use the knowledge I have to make their lives easier. I am thankful for the gratitude they show when they realize the impact I’ve had on the process for them.”

Want to find out how our underwriter trainees are faring? Find out next time when On the Road spends a day inside our new training program.

About the author
Stephanie Schumacher is the corporate recruiter at Texas Mutual Insurance Company.  She was a founding partner and chief marketing officer at Platinum Select, LP, a medical staffing firm operating in all 50 states.  Platinum Select was recognized as the Fastest Growing Medical Staffing Company in the U.S. in 2006.  Stephanie spent five years traveling and collaborating on multiple startup concepts in Dallas.  She also served as a mentor for the City of Dallas’ Youth Today Entrepreneur Tomorrow program and was a board member for the West Dallas Chamber of Commerce.

Leave a Reply

