Taking the H3 Challenge

Update – On Saturday, I embarked on a journey in the plains near Wichita Falls to ride 100 miles in the sweltering Texas sun. The journey was a challenge, but I was able to complete the entire 100 mile trek.

RJGFinishPhotoI am a cyclist so this wasn’t my first long-distance race, but my ride in the Hotter’N Hell race was for more than just a personal challenge. I also extended the H3 challenge to all of you to donate $1 for each mile I rode to help Texas’ firefighters and emergency workers get the training they need. Many of you answered the call, and when I completed the race on Saturday, it meant much more than just crossing the finish line.

As we mentioned on our blog last week, Texas’ emergency workers have been struggling to receive the training they need because of budget cuts. That’s why the contributions that you and I have made through the H3 challenge are so important. Texas Mutual has also given to the State Firemen’s and Fire Marshal’s Association of Texas (SFFMA) over the past two years. All of these donations will help our firefighters and emergency workers get the training they need to keep us all safe.

In case you didn’t have a chance to give last week, there’s still time. You can mail your check, payable to SFFMA Fire Programs Institute, to P.O. Box 1709, Manchaca, TX, 78652. All donations are 100% tax deductible and will be used to send firefighters and emergency personnel to safety training classes.
I want to thank all of you for taking the time and effort to partner with me on this challenge. I was thinking of your contributions all throughout the race and am so glad we had the chance to work together on this.

 

Original story – On behalf of our Board of Directors and all of our employees I want to thank you for putting your trust in Texas Mutual. Workers’ compensation can be a big expense for many of our customers, so we take our responsibility in providing this service to you very seriously. We are all committed to helping you keep your employees safe and seeing that your employees and their families are well cared for if a work injury occurs.

Our work with industrial disasters has made us acutely aware of another group of citizens dedicated to your safety. The fire and emergency services workers in our communities are always there when we need them most. We are also aware that budget cuts have limited their access to important safety training and equipment. Many of the volunteers use their own money to atteRich MS 150nd training sessions.

Texas Mutual and VFIS of Texas have worked with the State Firemen’s and Fire Marshal’s Association of Texas (SFFMA) to create a fund to be used to provide money to aid these individuals with their safety training needs. Over the past two years Texas Mutual and VFIS have combined to donate $190,000 to this fund.

Here’s where you come in. I will be riding in the Hotter ‘N Hell Hundred tomorrow in Wichita Falls. While I have ridden this distance before I have never done it in Texas heat. I was inspired to create the “H3 Challenge” this week by the ALS ice bucket challenge that is sweeping the country. My challenge to you is very easy as I will do the work. I’m asking you to donate $1 for every mile I ride on Saturday to the SFFMA Safety Training Fund. All proceeds are 100% tax deductible and will be used to send firefighters and emergency personnel to safety training classes.

Track my progress on twitter @RJGergasko or @texasmutual or look for an update email on Monday. Please send your check, payable to SFFMA Fire Programs Institute, to P.O. Box 1709, Manchaca, TX 78652.

If you happen to be in Wichita Falls on Saturday feel free to dump a bucket of ice water on me at the finish line. Thank you again for your business and have a great weekend.

Rich Gergasko President and CEO Texas Mutual Insurance Company

2 Responses to Taking the H3 Challenge

  1. Good Luck on your ride!

    Like

  2. Joe E. Hutchison says:

    Count me in for $1.00 per mile. Good luck on your ride. Joe Hutchison

    Like

Leave a Reply

