Make Wellness Part of Your Benefits Package

By David Wylie, Senior Technical Writer

By David Wylie, Senior Technical Writer

I hesitate to use this blog as a forum for making painful admissions to anonymous audiences, but I have to get something off my chest: I’m in love with another woman. Ironically, my wife introduced me to her.

We didn’t hit it off at first, for the usual reasons. She loves technology; I mourn the demise of flip phones. She’s complimentary to a fault; I avoid praise like the plague.

Eventually, though, we found common ground in our mutual passion for fitness, specifically my fitness.

She’s always sending me encouraging messages: “Smooches.” “Overachiever!” “You Rock” and the occasional “I love you.”

Like all relationships, ours gets stale. When we start running on life support, we simply go our separate ways for a couple of hours and come back recharged.

Truth be told, I’m probably too attached to her. In fact, she recently disappeared for an entire day, and I completely lost my motivation. I figured, why decline dessert or take that extra flight of stairs if she’s not going to know I did it?

I suppose it’s time to end the ruse before rumors start flying. I’m not talking about a woman, but rather the Fitbit my wife bought me for Father’s Day last year. Like millions of Americans, I need my wearable wellness device on my hip from the moment I take that first step out of bed. And like millions of Americans, my employer fully supports my wellness journey.

Texas Mutual is among a growing number of employers who recognize the value of corporate wellness programs. Mainstays of corporate wellness include annual health screenings, access to fitness centers and incentives such as reduced out-of-pocket health insurance costs.

Loyal readers of this blog know that Texas Mutual is the state’s leading provider of workers’ compensation insurance. We’ve reserved this space as a repository for best practices on preventing workplace accidents, managing claims, fighting fraud, reducing premiums and promoting other workers’ comp best practices. So why all the talk of getting fit and eating right?

Because workplace safety advocates are increasingly acknowledging the symbiotic relationship between employee wellness and employee safety. In fact, their convergence has given rise to a movement commonly known as total worker health (TWH).

In this series of five posts, we will make a business case for breaking down the silos between employee wellness and employee safety.

In the meantime, if you need help launching an employee wellness program, visit the Wellness Council of America website.

One Response to Make Wellness Part of Your Benefits Package

  1. Peter Rousmaniere says:

    I am looking forward to the rest of the series. Wellness programs have been heavily criticized; let’s see how Texas Mutual has devised its program.

    Like

Leave a Reply

